City of Tshwane

The Tshwane metropolitan municipality includes Pretoria, Centurion, Laudium, Eersterust, Akasia and Soshanguve, surrounding areas of Atteridgeville, Crocodile River, Ga-Rankuwa, Mabopane, Winterveldt, Hammanskraal, Temba, Mamelodi, Kungwini, Nokeng and Metsweding.

Pretoria is the administrative capital of South Africa and is home to the Union Buildings with government-related business playing an important role in Tshwane’s economy.

The municipality covers an area hosting different types of development in terms of character, scale and intensity. Not all areas are urbanised to the same extent and Tshwane also has significant regional open spaces and environmentally sensitive areas. These areas are located mainly at the periphery of the city.

Tshwane is a national centre of research and learning with four universities and the headquarters of both the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) and the Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC).

The growth of the city has been focused largely around the central core whilst growing radically along the major movement lines along which nodal points are subsequently being created.

The continuous processes of outward urban expansion furthermore provide constant pressures on the municipality’s capacity to provide service and infrastructure to open up new areas for development while maintaining required service levels in existing developed areas.

The dynamic growth of the city and the development of the economic nodes are currently focused on the southern and eastern sides of the city.

These outlying areas highlight the distortions of the spatial economy of the city as these persons have to travel long distances to the economic opportunities presented by the city.

Tshwane plays an important role in the economy of Gauteng, featuring a strong manufacturing sector, particularly the automotive industry, metal production and the likes.

Long-term plans by the municipality are to: providing basic services to areas that do not have basic services; growing investment; create sustainable communities with clean, healthy and safe environments; promote more active participation of the communities in the affairs of local government; develop sound corporate governance; and ensure financial sustainability.

Visit their website:


Executive Mayor : Stevens Mokgalapa
Tel: 012 358 4900
City Manager : Moeketsi Mosola
Tel: 012 358 4901/4904